1. Health

Every State: Car and Booster Seat Law

Car Seat Legislation in the United States

By

Updated June 30, 2014

Mum buckeling up toddler into car seat
Kent Mathews/Taxi/Getty Images

You might be surprised how different car seat and booster seat law can vary from state to state. Browse our alphabetical state listing to learn more. See page 1 a detailed explanation of the chart.

Alphabetical listings: Alabama - Hawaii | Idaho - Montana | Nebraska - Oregon | Pennsylvania - Wyoming

Information updated as of August 2012. Also be sure to check the car or booster seat expiration date.

State Rear Facing Seat Law Child Seat Seat Law Booster Seat Law Seat Belt Law
Idaho No specific law. Refer to booster seat notation. No specific law. Refer to booster seat notation. All children under age 6 in a properly restrained, appropriate car seat or booster Not permissible
Illinois No specific law. Refer to booster seat notation. No specific law. Refer to booster seat notation. All children under age 8 in a properly restrained, appropriate car seat or booster 8 - 15; More than 40 lbs in rear seat if only lap belt available
Indiana No specific law. Refer to booster seat notation. No specific law. Refer to booster seat notation. All children under age 8 in a properly restrained, appropriate car seat or booster 8 - 15; If 40 lbs or more can use lap belt if lap/shoulder belt unavailable
Iowa at least one year old and weigh 20 lbs or more No specific law. Refer to booster seat notation. All children ages 1 - 5 in a properly restrained, appropriate car seat 6 - 17
Kansas No specific law. Refer to child seat notation. All children under age 4 in a properly restrained, appropriate car seat 4 - 7 and less than 80lbs or 57") a properly restrained, appropriate car seat or booster seat 8 - 13; 4 - 7 (and >80 or >57")
Kentucky No specific law. Refer to child seat notation. All children 40" or less in a properly restrained, appropriate car seat Under age 6 and between 40" and 50" Age 6 and above and taller than 50"
Louisiana at least one year old or weighs 20 lbs or more Ages 1 - 3 (or 20 - 39 lbs) 4 - 5 or 40 - 60 lbs 6 -12 or more than 60 lbs
Maine No specific law. Refer to booster seat notation. No specific law. Refer to booster seat notation. All children 40 - 80 lbs and under 8 years in a properly restrained, appropriate car seat or booster 8 - 17 (or under 18 years and more than 57")
Maryland No specific law. Refer to booster seat notation. No specific law. Refer to booster seat notation. All children under age 8 unless 57" or taller or weighs more than 65 lbs in a properly restrained, appropriate car seat or booster 8 - 15 (or >57" or 65 lbs.)
Massachusetts No specific law. Refer to booster seat notation. No specific law. Refer to booster seat notation. All children under age 8 unless 57" or taller in a properly restrained, appropriate car seat or booster 8 - 12 years old or more than 57"
Michigan No specific law. Refer to booster seat notation. No specific law. Refer to booster seat notation. All children under age 8 unless 57" or taller in a properly restrained, appropriate car seat or booster. Under age 4 in rear seat. 8 to 16
Minnesota At least one year old and weigh 20 lbs or more No specific law. Refer to booster seat notation. All children under age 7 unless 57" or taller in a properly restrained, appropriate car seat or booster At least 8 years old or more than 57"
Mississippi No specific law. Refer to child seat notation. Under age 4 in a properly restrained, appropriate car seat. 4 - 6 years and under 57" or under 65 lbs At least age 7 or 57"or more or more than 65 lbs
Missouri No specific law. Refer to child seat notation. Under age four and under 40 pounds in a properly restrained, appropriate car seat. Ages 4 through 7 who weigh more than 40 pounds but less than 80 pounds or are not at least 57" in a properly restrained, appropriate car seat or booster. 8 - 16; 4 and older who are more than 80 lbs or 57"
Montana No specific law. Refer to booster seat notation. No specific law. Refer to booster seat notation. Under age 6 and weighing less than 60 pounds in a properly restrained, appropriate car seat or booster. Over 7 and over 60 lbs through adult
  1. About.com
  2. Health
  3. Baby's First Year
  4. Health & Safety
  5. Car Seat Safety
  6. Laws for Boosters and Car Seats by State

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.